US Mint releases First Presidential $1 Coin in Series

US Mint releases First Presidential $1 Coin in Series

$1 coin 1st in series George Washington

The US mint releases the first $1 coins in a series of Presidents of the United States. These new coins are intended for use in commerce as well as for collecting. To launch the new coins New Yorkers are invited to exchange their old paper dollar bills for the new dollar coin at Grand Central Terminal.

The first dollar coin has President George Washington. The coin is golden color with four coins with different presidents being announced each year. This year you will also see the release of John Adams, Thomas Jefferson and James Madison on the new dollar coins.

On the flip side of the coin will have an image of the Statue of Liberty on the edge of the coin the coin will have an inscription saying “E Pluribus Unum” and “In God We Trust.” Engravings on the edge of the coin haven’t happened since the 1930’s. It brings back memories of my Grandma giving out silver dollars to us as a gift. These coins could be quite collectible.

The release of the coin is available today, February 15th, at financial institutions, banks, retailers. Some may be participating sooner than others. Schools will be promoting the new dollar coin with educational activities.

You can buy the coins by the bag full at the website. 250 coins will cost $319.95 and 25 coins will cost $35.95.

Here are the scheduled release times for the years to come for the $1 coin Presidential Series:

2007 1 George Washington 1789-1797
2 John Adams 1797-1801
3 Thomas Jefferson 1801-1809
4 James Madison 1809-1817
2008 5 James Monroe 1817-1825
6 John Quincy Adams 1825-1829
7 Andrew Jackson 1829-1837
8 Martin Van Buren 1837-1841
2009 9 William Henry Harrison 1841
10 John Tyler 1841-1845
11 James K. Polk 1845-1849
12 Zachary Taylor 1849-1850
2010 13 Millard Fillmore 1850-1853
14 Franklin Pierce 1853-1857
15 James Buchanan 1857-1861
16 Abraham Lincoln 1861-1865
2011 17 Andrew Johnson 1865-1869
18 Ulysses S. Grant 1869-1877
19 Rutherford B. Hayes 1877-1881
20 James A. Garfield 1881
2012 21 Chester A. Arthur 1881-1885
22 Grover Cleveland 1885-1889
23 Benjamin Harrison 1889-1893
24 Grover Cleveland 1893-1897
2013 25 William McKinley 1897-1901
26 Theodore Roosevelt 1901-1909
27 William H. Taft 1909-1913
28 Woodrow Wilson 1913-1921
2014 29 Warren Harding 1921-1923
30 Calvin Coolidge 1923-1929
31 Herbert Hoover 1929-1933
32 Franklin Delano Roosevelt 1933-1945
2015 33 Harry S Truman 1945-1953
34 Dwight David Eisenhower 1953-1961
35 John F. Kennedy 1961-1963
36 Lyndon B. Johnson 1963-1969
2016 37 Richard M. Nixon 1969-1974
38 Gerald R. Ford 1974-1977

By Marelene Donor
Best Syndication Current Events Writer



Post to Facebook

Important: The material on Best Syndication is for informational purposes only and is not meant to be advice. Authors may have or will receive monetary compensation from the company's product/s mentioned. You should always seek professional advice before making any legal, financial or medical decisions and this website cannot substitute or replace any trained professional consultation.
Use of this site means that you agree to our TERMS OF SERVICE

Advertise On This Site
Copyright © 2006-2015 By Best Syndication All Rights Reserved