Tour de France 2009 winner is Alberto Contador from Spain

alt text

see video below

[Best Syndication News] The 2009 winner for Tour de France bicycle race is Alberto Contador from Spain. This is Contador's second timing winning the race. The first time he won the first place for the Tour de France was in 2007.

Contador also won the 2008 Giro d'Italia, Vuelta a España race. He is the fifth bicycle racer so far to win all three Grand Tour road cycling races. He is the first Spaniard to accomplish winning all three road races.

Contador previously had allegations of doping and was again accused of this by media during this year's race by Le Monde newspaper, accusing him of doping because of his record setting climb up the Verbier in the history of the Tour. A physiologist disputed the columnist accusations stating that it could be possible to achieve this despite the lowered oxygen levels.

United States seven time winner of the Tour de France, Lance Armstrong, placed third this year. Armstrong, 37, came back after taking a little over 3 years off from racing.

Andy Schleck from Luxembourg, placed second overall. His father Johnny Schleck raced in the Tour de France and the Vuelta a España between between 1965 and 1974. His brother is Fränk Schleck who also is a professional racer and was in the this year's Tour de France alongside Andy as part of the Team Saxo Bank.

By: John Stanton
other information

Tour de France Podium 2009 Champs final CONTADOR Alberto SCHLECK Andy ARMSTRONG Lance Winners Circle YouTube Video



Post to Facebook

Important: The material on Best Syndication is for informational purposes only and is not meant to be advice. Authors may have or will receive monetary compensation from the company's product/s mentioned. You should always seek professional advice before making any legal, financial or medical decisions and this website cannot substitute or replace any trained professional consultation.
Use of this site means that you agree to our TERMS OF SERVICE

Advertise On This Site
Copyright © 2006-2015 By Best Syndication All Rights Reserved