New California Booster Seat Law begins January 1, 2012

Rear of Car - BSN

(Best Syndication News) A new California law will go into effect for booster seats starting on January 1, 2012. The new rule changes the guidelines for booster seat usage.

The new law requires children under 8 years of age to use a booster seat in the back seat of all the vehicles they ride in, unless they measure at least 4 feet 9 inches tall. Children at that age will likely require a booster seat. This replaces the current law that required children up to age 6, or weighing less than 60 pounds, to use a booster seat.

When the child turns 8 years old, or is 4 feet 9 inches or taller, they do not need to use a booster seat in California. However, the National Highway Transportation and Safety Administration (NHTSA) still recommends that children 12 years and under ride in the back seat. The California Highway Patrol said that children who ride in the back seat versus the front seat can reduce their risk for injury by 33 percent.

The first time fine for not using a booster seat is $100, and the second time the penalty is $250. However, the additional penalty assessments could add up to a whopping $466. The second time, the ticket could tally over $1,000.

By: N Wilson

Ref: California Booster Seat Law 2012

Share/Save/Bookmark

      

Post to Facebook

Important: The material on Best Syndication is for informational purposes only and is not meant to be advice. Authors may have or will receive monetary compensation from the company's product/s mentioned. You should always seek professional advice before making any legal, financial or medical decisions and this website cannot substitute or replace any trained professional consultation.
Use of this site means that you agree to our TERMS OF SERVICE

Advertise On This Site
Copyright © 2006-2015 By Best Syndication All Rights Reserved